The new Google Photos storage policy will soon apply to everyone in the coming days. No longer will you be able to store an unlimited amount of photos.
Before the policy changes come into effect, Google is rolling out the ‘review and delete’ feature. The ‘High Quality’ tier is now renamed to the ‘Storage saver’ tier.
The ‘Review and Delete’ feature
If you want to access the new feature, tap your profile picture in the upper right corner of the screen, go to the ‘Account Storage’ progress bar. From there, you can open the ‘Backup and Sync’ menu. The ‘Manage storage’ option will take you to the new page.
The following options are available in the ‘Review and Delete’ feature:
- Large photos and videos
- and Blurry Photos
This will only show the photos and videos that take space on your Google Account storage and not on the device itself. As a reminder, the Cupertino-based company is also reminding users that the existing High-Quality photos and videos will not be affected in any way. Here is what Google has to say:
Any photos or videos backed up in High quality before June 1, 2021, will not count toward your Google Account storage. These photos and videos will remain free and exempt from the storage limit.
The feature will be available on the Google Photos app from today onwards. Google also provides a feature that tells you the approximate amount of photos and videos you can store with your current plan and when you might run out of storage.
We estimate that more than 80 percent of you should still be able to store roughly three more years of memories in High quality with your free 15GB of storage. As your storage nears 15GB, we will notify you in the app and follow up by email.
The High-Quality tier is now being renamed to Storage Saver. However, the quality won’t be affected in any way.
Do you like the changes Google is making? Share your thoughts in the comments down below!