LEGO® NES ™ Set Is the Perfect Way to Revisit Nintendo’s First Console

This set also works with LEGO®’s Super Mario ™ figure. If you place the figure on the action brick on top of the TV, Mario ™ will react to what’s happening on screen, delivering sound effects, voice lines, and music from the series. The Super Mario ™ figure is sold separately, though.

You can see how it all works in the video below:

While the LEGO® NES ™ is aimed at adults, this could also be a great model to build with your kids so that they can enjoy the fun of Super Mario ™ too. The set not only comes with easy-to-follow instructions for newcomers but also includes an illustrated booklet that tracks the creation of the NES ™ and many classic NES ™ games. We can’t think of a better way to cap an excellent LEGO® building session than by diving into some gaming history. Overall, this collector’s item sounds like the perfect way to celebrate the 35th anniversary of Nintendo’s most famous character.

The LEGO® NES ™ set will retail for $ 199.99 or £ 209.99. Judging by the buzz this set has already received, we suggest you buy your LEGO® NES ™ sooner rather than later. You can buy the NES ™ set here.

If you’re interested in checking out what other Nintendo goodies LEGO® is working on, the company will be hosting two live events on LEGO.com to celebrate the launch of the NES ™ set as well as to detail the new expansion sets coming for the LEGO® Super Mario ™ figure. The events are happening on Aug. 7 at 5 am ET / 11 am CEST and 1 pm ET / 7 pm CEST. During both half-hour sessions, you’ll be able to watch two LEGO® designers play with the different Super Mario ™ sets. Things MIGHT even get competitive!

Avatar

Rowdy Rathore

Add comment